Sonar the Cyclone

New Adult / Sci-Fi – Fantasy Romance
Date Published: 7/3/2015
 
 

   Is your destiny determined by what the future has foretold? Or is fate deemed in the hands of what you behold?

The Royal 4 are now back on their home territory of Nazari, determined to get things back to normal. Syira’s forbidden love is being held captive. She is hell-bent on fighting for him despite the immense obstacles. She must find a way to convince her race that Kadeem is not dangerous. Their threat lies from deeper within.
Shiray has accepted her past and is moving forward with her life, but it comes back to haunt her tenfold. That all changes when she stumbles across the truth. Now, she must pick up the pieces of her shattered life.
They are in the calm but know when they approach the dirty side of the Cyclone storm, terrible things will unravel. The future is revealed and they get a glimpse of Fate’s course. Time is not on their side. They must attempt to change their destiny or their world will be doomed.

Excerpt

  The clouds in the lilac sky parted to reveal our three moons. Twilight, my favorite time of the day, was on the horizon. The setting was serene, but a whirlwind ravaged my mind, spawned by my nightmare. Consumed by my thoughts, I didn’t hear Tara approach.

     “Syira!” I jumped.

     “Sorry,” she said from behind frazzled brown eyes. She looked like she’d seen a ghost. “I didn’t mean to scare you, but I need to talk to you.”

     Tara and I had been friends since early childhood. “Of course, Tara. What is it?”

     “I had a premonition. It was brief and incomplete, but I have to share it with someone.”

     “What was it about?”

     “Our future. I would rather show you than tell you.”

     “How can you show me your premonition?”

     “Meet me in my room in an hour and I’ll explain.”

     Shakily, I tapped lightly on Tara’s bedroom door. She yanked it open a few seconds later. Her room was opaque and looked like it was set up for a ritual séance. I crept inside. All the lights were out, but several candles were lit, creating a dull glow.

     “I need it dark to help me concentrate,” she said. “I hope you don’t mind.”

     “No, it’s fine.”

     “Come over here. I have everything set up on the floor.”

     I followed her to a cluster of candles on the ground. Their fragrance burned and filled the air. I inhaled the scent of lavender and vanilla. The marvelous smell put me at ease and I felt my shoulders relax. The candles were grouped next to a brown bowl holding a dark liquid. She sat on a pillow and directed me to those across from her.

     “When she was alive, my sister, Tiara, taught me how to replay visions. She also showed me the technique of showing others.”

     I glanced down to assess her collection of objects. “That’s amazing!”

     “In order for you to see what I saw, you will have to drink that.” She pointed to the bowl.

     I clutched my stomach instinctively. “Is it safe?”

     “It doesn’t taste great, but it’s safe. My sister was pregnant when she took it and I’ve done it myself several times.

     I hesitated. “So how does this work, exactly?”

     “Once you drink, I’ll replay the premonition, and the substance will allow you to see it. You won’t like what you see. And, I warn you, it will feel like it’s really happening. You will probably forget you are seeing a vision. Just try to stay calm.”

      I felt my eyes get bigger, and the baby kicked.

     “I normally get more details in a vision, but this is only a glimpse.”

       I took a deep breath, wary but determined of what I would see. “Let’s do this.”

      She held the bowl at arm’s length. “Drink a few sips. It will take a couple of minutes to take effect. You may feel a little strange. Once you start to feel the effects, take my hand and I will replay the premonition.”

     I had to force myself to swallow the bitter liquid. Tara seemed to be in some sort of trance. I didn’t feel anything at first, but when it hit, it slammed into me. I was suddenly lightheaded and high, like I’d taken a strong pain medication. A few seconds ticked by, and I felt even higher. Oh, I didn’t like this feeling.

     “Has the substance kicked in?”

     I took her hand in response. “How long is this going to last? I don’t like it.”

     “It will wear off in a few hours.” Great, I thought. Moments later, Tara disappeared.

    I’m traveling and it feels similar to teleporting, but different. Bright lights flash all around me. I am in a dark, open field on Kadan at night time, maybe close by Elms Forest. I hear a ferocious bang coming from the sky. There are several ships firing at each other. Then, right before my eyes, hundreds of Kadanans and Polars materialize, deep in battle. It’s extremely loud. I feel exposed and my mind forgets this is a vision.

     Shiray is going toe to toe with a woman who is her height. She has a platinum blond bob and grey eyes. They are punching and kicking, their movements so fast they are blurry. The platinum Polar must have mind powers equivalent to Shi’s. As they are boxing it out, they also appear to be exchanging pain through their minds. Every few seconds one of them flinches. Then the other gets the upper hand, delivering the same action. I watch in despair as they continue to fight. Another female intervenes and jumps in. Bryan gets wind of this and rushes over. He throws flames at the platinum blond woman. But she manages to dodge them and sends him down to the ground in pain. Shi is on her knees, also. She gets to her feet, trying to help Bryan, and platinum bob pins her with agony again. The other female Polar uses this to her advantage and sends lightning bolts through Shi. She is helpless under both attacks and continues to get blasts of electricity. I stare in disbelief, screaming. I try to use my powers, but they are not working. After several seconds, Shi’s heart stops. I don’t know how I can hear it, but it is dreadful sound. Tears stream down my face, and Bryan screams her name as she collapses on the ground.


     B Truly has wanted to be an author since she was fifteen years old and grateful to have accomplished this dream.  She has very vivid dreams and a wild imagination. She likes to read, watch tons of TV shows, and movies. She is addicted to romance and gets a thrill out of action and suspense. She writes New Adult, Fantasy, Sci-fi, and Paranormal-Romance. 
 
     In the Sonar series, B Truly said “it was fun to explore different elements of Sci-fi romance and create various realms of powers for my characters. I want to show my readers that Sci-fi can be fun, but also traumatic. I hope you guys enjoy the Sonar Series.”

     B Truly has three wonderful children and a husband who defines the person she is today. She works full-time as an Ultrasound technologist in Sugarland, Texas.

Website 

Facebook

Goodreads

 

Purchase Links

GIVEAWAY

Prizes:
$15 Amazon giftcard, 1 Sonar The Cyclone photo magnet, 1 Sonar pen,  and
1 e-book copy of Sonar The Cyclone (mobi, e-pub, Pdf)

For all readers and hosts who participate. This question comes from one of the 3 excerpts that are posted on the tour.

Make sure that you follow the tour and have read all 3 excerpts to be able to answer the question.

What is the name of the character that showed Syira the premonition?

Comment on any of the blog stops during this tour with your answer to be entered to win!

Leave a Reply

